Pandemic -

Management

Industrial hygiene, pandemic prevention, occupational safety

"Experiences are of greatest value when we have them before we have to have them"

The COVID-19 pandemic is leaving its mark at the intersection of hygiene, preparedness and contingency planning. gammaRenax supports clients in taking a pragmatic and thorough look at these aspects; in the process, operating costs and risks can also be sustainably reduced.

The experience of gammaRenax is based on many years of consulting, the involvement of experts, the cooperation of customer planning staffs, relevant literature and standards. Thus, gammaRenax operating concepts represent best practice and comply with IS0 9001 (quality), 14001 (environment), 50001 (energy), ISO 45001 (occupational safety) and ISO 26000 (social responsibility).

What is particularly important in times of pandemic with regard to hygiene?

As a human being: There are the general hygiene rules that have been somewhat forgotten in the last generation, e.g. hand washing. It's amazing how many people had to change their habits in this regard within a few months. Or staying home when you're sick. Scheduling video conferences is arguably beneficial even without the coronavirus: it saves CO2, and travel time can be invested in preparation and follow-up. Contrary to the zeitgeist, everyone should understand that it's up to each individual. Contagions can be avoided by strict spatial separation: 'social distancing' also applies at smokers' meeting places and in front of coffee machines. And then one should resist the barbecue party, where everyone feels safe with a 2-metre distance, only to pick up the same barbecue fork, toilet door handle and bottle opener . . .

As a company: Draw up and implement a hygiene concept with consistently followed procedures; train, sensitise and monitor those carrying out the work. Create structural conditions that are adapted to hygiene. Only targeted disinfection of clean and dry surfaces. Actively inform employees. Regular information and appreciation are important: by e-mail, video conference or even YouTube interview. Supervisors should not entrench themselves in the home office, but show up at the 'front'. Whether it is done correctly and understood must be ensured on site and, if necessary, also enforced.

What should we learn from the COVID 19 pandemic?

Similar to the hygiene concept (see SVG recommendation "Hygiene of recreational and sports facilities"), a pandemic concept should be drawn up which defines the scenario and the measures to be taken in response. Then come material preparedness, 'grandmotherly emergency stockpiling' and staff training. It is also important to favor reliable and thus with advantage domestic producers, who in turn should be committed to 'raw material reserves' in the system. Clearly defining customer relationships, now for such a higher-level case, can shorten response times and reduce uncertainty. However, as each crisis is unique, the essentials are: maintaining reliable personal relationships and taking an active leadership role.

 (From an interview with Severin Gallo, CEO of gammaRenax, and Sandro Stolz, Head of Consulting and Sales KWZ AG, in the SVG Journal: https://gammarenax.ch/download/497/SVG-Journal_Artikel_Hygiene_Pandemie_01_2020.pdf)

Betriebshygiene, Pandemievorsorge, Arbeitssicherheit

 

„Erfahrungen sind dann von grösstem Wert, wenn wir sie hätten, bevor wir sie machen müssten“

 

Die COVID-19 Pandemie hinterlässt Spuren im Schnittpunkt von Hygiene, Vorsorge und Notfallplanung. gammaRenax unterstützt die Kunden bei einer pragmatischen und gründlichen Betrachtung dieser Aspekte; dabei lassen sich auch Betriebskosten und Risiken nachhaltig senken.

Die Erfahrung von gammaRenax basiert auf langjähriger Beratung, der Einbindung von Fachleuten, der Mitarbeit kundenseitiger Planungsstäbe, einschlägiger Literatur und Normen. So bilden Betriebskonzepte von gammaRenax best practice ab und entsprechen IS0 9001 (Qualität), 14001 (Umwelt), 50001 (Energie), ISO 45001 (Arbeitssicherheit) und ISO 26000 (Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung).

Was gilt es in Pandemiezeiten bezüglich Hygiene besonders zu beachten?

Als Mensch: Es gibt da die generellen Hygieneregeln, die in der letzten Generation etwas in Vergessenheit gerieten, z.B. das Händewaschen. Es ist erstaunlich, wie viele Leute ihre diesbezüglichen Gewohnheiten innerhalb weniger Monate umstellen mussten. Oder das Zuhause bleiben, wenn man krank ist. Das Ansetzen von Video-Konferenzen ist wohl auch ohne Coronavirus von Vorteil: es spart CO2, und die Reisezeit kann in Vor- und Nachbereitung investiert werden.  Entgegen dem Zeitgeist sollten alle verstehen, dass es auf jeden Einzelnen ankommt. Durch strikte räumliche Trennung sind Ansteckungen zu  vermeiden: ‹Social Distancing› gilt auch an Raucher-Treffpunkten und vor Kaffeemaschinen. Und dann sollte man der Grillparty widerstehen, wo sich zwar alle mit 2-Meter-Abstand sicher fühlen, um dann doch die gleiche Grillgabel, den WC-Türgriff und den Flaschenöffner in die Hand zu nehmen . . .

Als Betrieb: Erstellen und Umsetzen eines Hygiene-Konzeptes mit konsequent verfolgten Abläufen; Schulung, Sensibilisierung und Überwachung der Ausführenden. Auf die Hygiene abgestimmte bauliche Voraussetzungen schaffen. Nur gezielte Desinfektion und dies von sauberen und trockenen Flächen. Die Mitarbeitenden aktiv informieren. Regelmässige Information und Wertschätzung sind wichtig: als Mail, Video-Konferenz oder gar als YouTube-Interview. Die Vorgesetzten sollten sich nicht im Homeoffice verschanzen, sondern an der ‹Front› zeigen. Ob es richtig gemacht und verstanden wird, muss vor Ort sichergestellt und bei Bedarf  auch durchgesetzt werden.

Was sollten wir aus der COVID-19-Pandemie lernen?

Ähnlich wie beim Hygiene-Konzept (siehe SVG-Empfehlung «Hygiene von Freizeit- und Sportanlagen») sollte man ein Pandemie-Konzept erarbeiten, welches das Szenario und die darauf abzustimmenden Massnahmen festschreibt. Dann kommen die materielle Bereitschaft, der ‹grossmütterliche Notvorrat› und die Schulung der Mitarbeitenden. Es ist auch wichtig, verlässliche und somit mit Vorteil inländische Produzenten zu favorisieren, die wiederum zu ‹Rohstoffreserven› im System verpflichtet werden sollten. Die klare Definition von Kundenbeziehungen, nun auch für einen solch übergeordneten Fall, können Reaktionszeiten verkürzen und Unsicherheiten reduzieren. Da jede Krise aber einzigartig ist, sind das Wesentliche: verlässliche persönliche Beziehungen pflegen und eine aktive Führungsrolle übernehmen.

 (Aus einem Interview mit Severin Gallo, CEO von gammaRenax,  und Sandro Stolz, Leiter Beratung und Verkauf KWZ AG, im SVG-Journal: https://gammarenax.ch/download/497/SVG-Journal_Artikel_Hygiene_Pandemie_01_2020.pdf)